kukla_tko: (All about the breastesess)
[personal profile] kukla_tko
Conflation 2005
Post-Mortem:

Friday: Got to the con at the time I had originally estimated. For the first time ever, I suspect. However, since my roommate and sugah dadde [livejournal.com profile] mztish103 wasn't there yet, I had to fart around waiting and unable to change clothes or join in the con since I was without a room or a badge. I really didn't mind, though.
Got to bring in the stuff from the back of the truck, but only to put it in a friend's room. Smoky. So, while trying to switch it to my mom's non-smoking room so I could change, I find out that she is here, so I go down to our room. 4040, oddly enough.
We threw a really great room party with a Caesar's Palace theme. Palm trees, scarves, and peacock feathers every where. Booze in the form of scotch, wine, and "ambrosia" which was an amaretto sour with a hit of rum in it to kick it up.

Very popular.

We were fabulous in our diaphanous finery, and I got to promote the BBall, and get pretty drunk.

We closed down about 4am and went to bed, after much "slumber party silliness".

ZZZZZZZZZ

Saturday:
Got up around noon thirty, dragged myself out of bed because Allura was supposed to meet me in the lobby so that she could sneak in to the con to give CCC their $100 and pick up her corset.
She didn't show after a reasonable amount of time, so I joined the con. CCC was fabulous as usual, Glen had great books, there was a lady from KC with sex toys, Mom and her husband had a table of garage sale stuff, [livejournal.com profile] thegeoffrey, partner, and spawn were being very cute and Moria Silver was in effect.

The fashion show/auction was fine, but they really need to start playing music for this thing. I bought a few items so that I could help Conflation out. Some of them even fit me.

I went to lunch with [livejournal.com profile] allura629, then she went home.
[livejournal.com profile] professor arrived right about then, and we hung out at the sex toys party. That was fun, too. I wish I had money to spend.

[livejournal.com profile] professor and I talked about dinner, hung around the dealer's room, tried on corsets and stuff, then made a plan to go to dinner for sushi. [livejournal.com profile] phierma and [livejournal.com profile] cosx (As Kim Possible and Ron Stoppable) joined us, and so did Elonka. We spent way too much money, but it was worth it for the big boat and the free ice cream. Mm, Sushi!

Went up to the room and got changed for the evening. I wore the Marlena Dietrich and [livejournal.com profile] professor was Eris, Goddess of Discordia. (And fabulous, in her glowing sneakiness.) We did a sort of a trial run for the BBall.

The con itself turned out to be pretty good this year. The gambling went well (I hear) and the music was a bit of all right. I got to dance with my friends and be wonderful in general.
At some point I managed to get [livejournal.com profile] professor introduced to a new friend. (Which reminds me, I have to get her his number and stuff.)
Then I went up to my Mom's room for the room party with Octopus and Strip Twister. I set some ground rules, then discovered that only [livejournal.com profile] phierma and I wanted to play. Everyone else wanted to be a spectator. With some encouragement, it turned around. I lost first and got out of the game. Just as I was leaving, some athletic people arrived and wanted to play, so it all worked out.

Didn't get to sleep until after 4am again, for reasons I will not get into here. Suffice to say that I got about four hours of somewhat interrupted sleep, then got up, loaded the truck and went to work at noon on Sunday.

At Jackman's, where I was hosting my family's quilting circle. (Culture shock, anyone?)

All in all, a fun weekend.
I hope they bring the con back next year. I plan to promote it at Fantasm next month. Which reminds me; who wants to help fund my Fantasm trip? I have a paypal button on my LJ info page.

:)

conflation

Date: 2005-02-28 09:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] minidoc.livejournal.com
I'm sorry that I missed it this year. I went to another con here since I was here for the weekend and it was pretty lame. No SAT night dance. dead after the masquerade. They tell me it should have 700-800 folks here but only 8 masquerade entries and 2 room parties on a sat night. Most of the people I met were from out of town, so there goes any chance of meeting locals. I miss you guys.
(deleted comment)

Re: conflation

Date: 2005-03-01 01:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] minidoc.livejournal.com
Yes it was. I had never been there before and knew one person on committee. Granted I missed the masque but in my past experience I always had fun at the parties. They were almost non existent there. Even the con suite was quiet. I don't think you missed much.

Re: conflation

Date: 2005-03-01 01:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kukla-tko42.livejournal.com
We miss you,too. Hey, wanna come to Fantasm?

(Eyelash flutter)

Re: conflation

Date: 2005-03-01 01:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] minidoc.livejournal.com
when is it? My schedule the next few months is pretty full with the wedding and all.

Fantasm

Date: 2005-03-01 02:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kukla-tko42.livejournal.com
It's the weekend after St. Patrick's day. The weekend before Easter.

March 17,18,19,20th.

We're planning to go for Friday through Sunday. I will probably have to work on Monday night, so we will need to leave on Sunday and try to get back that night. (I might still find someone to take that shift, so we will have to see.)

http://www.fantasm.org

Profile

kukla_tko: (Default)
kukla_tko

January 2019

S M T W T F S
   12 345
6789101112
1314 1516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios