kukla_tko: (Default)
[personal profile] kukla_tko
Sigh.
The problem with sleeping in on a weekday is the long line of telemarketers and whatnot who are waiting to bother me.

Today I got some of these:
Phone: Ringgie!
Me: Hello?
Phone: (Eastern Accent) Hi there, I was hoping that I could talk to you about the great offer we have available right now for satellite service. Do you currently have cable?
Me: *Sleepy accent* We have cable. We are canceling said cable. We are not interested in any other services for out TV.
Phone: (Blithely unaware of my protest) Well, we have an incredible deal going on right now, your service would be installed absolutely free, and you could get-
Me: No, no. We aren't interested in any other services-
Phone: Our service is only $29 per month-
Me: *rude accent* NO. You have misunderstood me. We are not interested in any services for our television.
Phone: It's only...
Me: And I would rather spend that money on groceries. Goodbye.

Phone: Ringgie!
Me: Hello?
Phone: Yes, Mrs. Ketner?
Me: I am sorry. This number was reassigned well over two years ago. You will want to correct that list you bought, and indicate that this is an uncharitable household.
(Since our phone has been connected, over two years ago, we have gotten a continuous stream of calls for a Mrs. Jennifer Ketner, or occasionally Mr. Ketner. It was kind of confusing at first, then annoying, and now it's just plain stupid. Most of the calls we get now are from various charities that the generous Mrs. Ketner has financially assisted in the past.)

Phone: Ringggie!
Me: Hello?
Phone: We have an important message for you, but all of our operators are busy at this time...
Me: CLICK.

Ok. I can tolerate spam. I can tolerate people trying to sell me stuff over the phone. People have to earn a living, and I myself have had to do some telemarketing to pay my bills. I am willing to speak to someone (provided that they know whom they are calling...) and I am willing to be polite if they take no for an answer. Sometimes I get to take fun surveys and provide them with all kinds of strange data. (What's your favorite sport to watch on TV? Iron Chef.)

But those pre-recorded messages that want you to hold on while they put a real person on the line to try to sell you something are a new face of EVIL. Bleah. Mostly, I have come to think of them as a new game wherein they try to see how fast I will hang up on a prerecorded voice.

Bleah, I say. And BAH!

At any rate, our hot water has returned (YAY!) Apparently last night THREE DIFFERENT WORKMEN showed up to service us, after my wasting two full days waiting around for someone to arrive, having been told that we were scheduled for an appointment.

(Sigh.)

They also arrived after I had left. I told my SO that I must be really scary. They must have been lying in wait in the bushes, hoping that I would leave so that they could come in the house.
Or that my SO is really sexy to workmen.

???

Profile

kukla_tko: (Default)
kukla_tko

January 2019

S M T W T F S
   12 345
6789101112
1314 1516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 09:27 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios