kukla_tko: (Pirate Chest)
[personal profile] kukla_tko
Ugh. Here's the part I don't like. I have too much in my head right now. Mind-Congestion. And everything is trying to gain top billing.

First of all, there's La Mancha. I get to play with the airbrush today for "aging" the costumes. This is fun but there's about 10 costumes to filthify. Not only do I have a ton of work to still get done, but new ideas are crowding in, demanding attention. I want to do this show "modern" and I have a nifty twist for it. Perhaps this is the show I need to do, first.
No, I won't tell you what my modern twist is. Wait and see.

Secondly, Archon approaches. Usually I get to devote the weekend before the event to packing and preparing.
HA.
So, I don't even have a packing list, although my SO was kind enough to do the laundry so I don't have to worry about that part. Allura asked me what we would be wearing and when, so that she could make a list and have costumes all prepared with accessories.

This is how I usually go to cons these days.

However, I feel an intense urge to backslide to the days when I was overpacked and brought far more outfits than I could wear at a three day event. (Didn't stop me from TRYING to wear them all..) Ok, I will try not to overpack, and I will bring outfits instead of random parts. However, I really want to have options. I want to be able to decide that I am feeling fey and want to be a fairy all night and all day, too. Or that I want to wear my Klingon Finery to the (random panel.) Or, if the temperature changes wildly, I want comfortable clothes to change into.

So... overpacked instead of overprepared.

And of course, there's all the anxiety and excitement brought on by the approach of Archon. I have panels to polish, events to promote, and a masquerade entry to work on.

And I still have two days of work to wade through, too.

UGH indeed!

So, for my own sanity, and your viewing pleasure (ok, reading pleasure) I will post what I am considering bringing to Archon for to wear. List subject to change without notice. Votes in favour or against are welcome.


Piratical stuff. Boots, corset, black poufy shirt, possibly the Ren Faire Fabulous variation. Lots of scarves to go with it and...

Gypsy TKO. It's always grand to have some fortune teller gear stashed away somewhere. When I am not sure what I want to wear, this makes a good default.

Faerie Queen. I will probably bring the ol' green dress, and I might bring the red one (After all, I might need to be an Autumn Faerie.) Of course, the full box of wings is coming. And tiaras, and wands, and pouches and baskets. (Having a basket at Archon is useful.)

Elven Splendor. You thought this counted as faerie gear, didn't you? I will probably bring the green medieval gown that I like so much because it makes such great Sunday gear. Simple, straightforward, and still a "costume." Ear tips too, of course. And the Arwen circlet.

Klingon Bitch. Eh. I haven't worn it in a while. It's comfy, actually, and if it is cool, it will keep me warm. I can use my new Fall with it, too.

Goth Princess. I gotta show off the new corset. (uh. And pay for it.) I have a new ballgown skirt, so that will be neat. I also have new ass-kickin' boots. And capes, and stuff.

Halloween Box of Crazy: I need to bring many Halloween costumes for the Presentation. heh heh heh.

Goat Chick. I hope that my SO brings his "goatboy" costume. I will also bring my fuzzy pants and run amok all horny.

Infernal American. Which could be anything.

Hogwarts Finery. We do have that HP event going on. And I am responsible for several costumes.

That should be plenty, but I also want to have a Super Hero outfit. (OK, I know, I don't have the bod for it any more, but I might still surprise you... I am the right height for Wolverine, after all...)

excellent choices

Date: 2004-09-28 12:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] minidoc.livejournal.com
Although you may be tempted to be overpacked, be careful. Mildly overpacked can be one thing but to bring enough clothes to dress you, you SO's and their best friends for multiple costume changes may be just a little much. It can be very stressful for you and your roomates if you do this unless you have the means to have a separate dressing room and sleeping quarters. If you have the means a suite may work well.

Remember you have to repack and haul around everything you bring.

Just a friendly hint from someone who has shared many rooms with you and other well known costumers who also tend to overpack (grin).



Overpacking...

Date: 2004-09-28 01:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kukla-tko42.livejournal.com
Ah. See, you haven't roommed with me in a while.

Most of the above will be transported on hangers. If it looks like I have too much hanging stuff, I might even bring a second rack to hang stuff up on.

I don't bring big boxes of unrelated crap any more.

And my SO and etc, will be bringing their OWN costumes.

The box of Halloween Crazy will be self-contained and probably stored in my truck until the Masquerade, and hauled down there WITH the truck.

Otherwise, it's a few duffels (or smaller boxes) and some hang-up dresses. Ta-da!

Re: Overpacking...

Date: 2004-09-28 01:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] minidoc.livejournal.com
Well that is another story all together. When you mentionned overpacking, I was thinking of the days of huge unending boxes of unrelated stuff.

This is much more manageable!

Date: 2004-09-29 02:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velcrobandit.livejournal.com
I wish I would have known about archon sooner. I've never gone and don't know anything about it, but it sounds like it'd be fun. I don't have a costume, though, and I'd think that dressing up (as much as I love to play dress-up) would be the best part!

I'd dress up in full elven splendor. that'd be a lot of fun!

Though pirates are always fun, too...and you can talk like a pirate...

....You know, I'm not going to be much help here. It'd be fun to dress up in ANY of those costumes!

TELL me about it!

Date: 2004-09-29 10:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kukla-tko42.livejournal.com
Yeah, the dressing up is not the best part, actually.

And yes. All of those costumes are fun, that's why they made the cut. I haven't included:

Kitty costumes, even "Pimp Kat and his Pussy", the cute group hall costume that we did last year.

ALL of the Faerie costumes.

Medusa, and all the other lovely greco-roman stuff. Mm. Chitons.

Goddess Gear. (See above).

Angels. (Good angel-bad angel. Did this one two years ago. "Am I EVIL yet?")

Anime characters, star wars characters, obscure comic book characters...

Dr. Who stuff.

Wizards, warriors, and goblins.


All of this is currently in my closet, and some of it even fits me.

Sigh.


Anyway, must pack...

Profile

kukla_tko: (Default)
kukla_tko

January 2019

S M T W T F S
   12 345
6789101112
1314 1516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios